With two wins, two second and two third place finishes, Michael Guasch takes the 2013 ALMS PC Driver’s Championship for PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports

October 20, 2013 – (Braselton, Georgia)When the checkered flag fell on the final race of the 2013 season, and on the final American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón era, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports drivers Michael Guasch, David Cheng, and Dane Cameron came home in fifth place, one spot shy of the necessary fourth position that would have secured the ALMS PC Driver’s Championship for Michael Guasch. As they packed the battered #52 Molecule FLM09 into the Fresno, CA based team’s transporters, they looked to their title rivals, celebrating in the paddock, and congratulated them on a well fought season. During the season ending Petit Le Mans, PR1/Mathiasen had recovered from no less than three cars incurring stop and go penalties for striking the team’s entry, repaired severe damage, and suffered through inclement weather to fight all the way to the end to bring home a second place Championship finish for Guasch.

Having endured the crucible that is the 1,000 Mile 16th Annual Petit Le Mans Powered By Mazda at Road Atlanta, the team went back to the hotel to reflect philosophically on what had transpired.

“I know how I drove, and how the team improved throughout the season,” Guasch said after the race. “Second place is nothing to be ashamed of, especially if you miss first just by one point.”

A few hours later, however, Guasch received a phone call from the team at 1:45am. Half asleep, he heard the frantic voice on the phone tell him that the one-off 8Star Motorsports car was not eligible for championship points as they were not a full-season entry. IMSA rules that govern the ALMS stipulate that points are awarded as though the part-time competitors were not competing in the event and that the PR1/Motorsports entry would be classified fourth and awarded an additional two points.

Fourth place, and those extra two points were all Guasch needed to win the 2013 ALMS PC Driver’s Championship by a single point.

“It has been an emotional roller coaster all year,” Guasch said. “Nothing has come easy. We’ve been hit, we’ve wrecked in warm up, taken pole but not the race win, just had everything thrown at us all season. It just shows how difficult it is to compete at this level where getting anywhere near the front takes an enormous amount of energy and commitment. I went to sleep thinking we got second, and I was truly satisfied. I’m not joking, I really did. I was proud of how much I improved over the year, how we won the 12 Hours of Sebring with an all Silver driver lineup, how it was just me and David in the car during the middle of the season fighting for every spot against the odds.”

“After everything we’ve endured and overcame, second place was an amazing achievement. But when the news broke that we had won it all, the feeling was just indescribable! It is such an incredible accomplishment by the whole team and all of our supporters that helped make this possible. I’m just so thankful to everyone and immensely proud to be here.”

PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Team Principal, Bobby Oergel, didn’t receive the good news until the morning after the race.

“I woke up and saw that my phone was flooded with messages from back home, journalists, everyone,” Oergel said. “I made some quick calls then headed out to the track to make sure that what I heard was correct and that we got the Championship for Mike. Once it was official, I finally allowed myself to believe it was true. Looking back at the past four years of ALMS PC competition, we never had a driver be able to be in the #52 for the whole season. It’s really quite remarkable given the high caliber of driver’s we’ve had the pleasure of working with. Our whole philosophy is ‘Performance First!’ We’ve brought so many drivers up through the ranks, and have helped reach their goals on and off the track. Mike was the first one to go the distance with us in our ALMS PC program and it is an honor to say that PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports was able to help the first guy that drove the whole season with us win the Driver’s Championship.”

Drivers and partners interested in the PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports Prototype Challenge program can contact the team directly at or at (559) 277-1300.

About Molecule

Molecule is a fabric care system specifically formulated for Nomex material. The unique properties of the Molecule product line are designed to care for your racing suit when dry cleaning may not be an option. The Protector formula bonds to Nomex fabric to help repel potentially flammable stains from oil, grease, fuel, dirt, and other contaminants that may compromise the effectiveness of your racing suit. The Wash, refresher and spot cleaner can also help you stay race ready without affecting the performance of your suit. Molecule products have undergone extensive testing and analysis. Unlike ordinary detergents that contain additives that can attract moisture, oil, and flammable stains, Molecule has been specifically designed for the unique soils of the racing environment. The patent pending formula helps maintain the original look and feel of your racing suit allowing it to perform at its best, race after race.

About PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports

In paddocks packed with excellent teams and quality drivers, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports has established itself as one of motorsport’s premier organizations. The operation is based in Fresno, CA where PR1/Mathiasen occupies a 5000 square foot facility that houses a stable of F2000 Zetec, F1600, GRAND-AM, and ALMS racecars, plus a full-time crew of technicians and engineers. Since 1990, PR1/Mathiasen has won 45 championships in a wide assortment of world-class series before joining the American Le Mans Series full-time in 2010. In just 25 races, the team has scored six pole positions and have won four races including victories at the legendary Road America, the Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta, and the world renowned Twelve Hours of Sebring. The team’s alumni and active driver roster includes an impressive list of accomplished drivers including IndyCar stars J.R. Hildebrand and Charlie Kimball, sports car legends Luiz Diaz, Butch Leitzinger, and Marino Franchitti, and rising stars Jonathan Bomarito, Ryan Lewis, and Dane Cameron.
Press contact: Eric Wildt at (707) 480-7350 or