With just two races remaining in the 2015 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship schedule, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports heads to the Circuit of the Americas (COTA) in Austin, Texas for Saturday’s 40-minute Lone Star Le Mans sprint race just five points out of the driver’s and team championship lead.

The penultimate round in Texas will set the stage for an all out battle in two weeks at the season-ending ten-hour endurance race, the Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta.

Not wanting to leave anything to chance, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports drivers Michael Guasch and Tom Kimber-Smith both tested with the team in Texas last week to get everything prepared for tomorrow’s event.

MICHAEL GUASCH – Driver #52 Cuttwood E-Liquid

“I’m happy to be back to COTA, it’s my favorite track in the series, lots of fast corners, wide run-offs, a true world-class Formula 1 spec track. We had an all green flag race here a few years ago, really pushed us to our limits!

“We’re just five points out of the championship lead and we’re focused on getting some points back this weekend. We need to claw our way back to the top as soon as possible.

“We had a great test here last week and I know we’re ready. We’re prepared, we just need to execute.”

TOM KIMBER-SMITH – Driver #52 Cuttwood E-Liquid

‘Testing went really well for us last week. We were limited in tires, which forced us to focus on long runs, perfect for Petit. We found some gains especially with the hot temperatures that we also expect to see here this weekend in Texas.

“The circuit is a lot to fun to drive. It’s a typical F1 style circuit, wide and smooth, so it should encourage overtaking and great racing.

“It’s another important weekend for us here and I know that everyone in the team is focused and pushing hard to get us on the podium again.”

BOBBY OERGEL – Team Owner – PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports

“The season is winding down, but it’s certainly not over yet, we have two very important events to go. We have a short sprint race at a newer wide-open track and a ten-hour endurance race at a tight and twisty staple of sportscar racing. The two challenges could be more different, but the mentality is the same; maximum attack when the situation allows, temperance when needed, and a never-ending focus on the big picture.

“We got the Daytona 24 and Sebring wins, we got Mike a driver’s championship a few years ago. Now we’re going for it all. We’re ready for this fight.”

Lone Star Le Mans Television Broadcast Schedule:
04:45 PM – 06:15 PM ET (Live Qualifying) 9/18/2015
12:30 PM – 03:30 PM ET (Live) 9/19/2015 FOX Sports 2
01:30 PM – 04:30 PM ET 9/20/2015 FOX Sports 1

About Cuttwood

Cuttwood prides itself on providing quality made products. Through research, development, rigorous testing, and innovation, we are dedicated to providing the best E-Liquid on the market. While we are committed to making superior products, we are also devoted to providing consistency through our product lines and customer service. At Cuttwood, we are proud to make our products with only approved high quality ingredients and the best flavors in the world.


Drivers and partners interested in the PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports TUDOR United SportsCar Championship program can contact the team directly at or call
(559) 277-1300.

About PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports

In paddocks packed with excellent teams and quality drivers, PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports has established itself as one of motorsport’s premier organizations. The operation is based in Fresno, CA where PR1/Mathiasen occupies a 5000 square foot facility that houses a stable of F2000 Zetec, F1600, GRAND-AM, and TUDOR United SportsCar Championship racecars, plus a full-time crew of technicians and engineers. Since 1990, PR1/Mathiasen has won 45 championships in a wide assortment of world-class series before joining the American Le Mans Series full-time in 2010. In just 25 races, the team has scored six pole positions and have won four races including victories at the legendary Road America, the Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta, and the world renowned Twelve Hours of Sebring. In 2013, PR1/ Mathiasen won the American Le Mans series Prototype Challenge Driver’s Championship with Michael Guasch. The team’s alumni and active driver roster includes an impressive list of accomplished drivers including IndyCar stars J.R. Hildebrand and Charlie Kimball, sports car legends Luiz Diaz, Butch Leitzinger, and Marino Franchitti, and rising stars Dane Cameron, Jonathan Bomarito, and Ryan Lewis.

Press contact: Eric Wildt at (707) 480-7350 or